Skip to content

What is Ashtanga yoga?

April 4, 2008





In Sanskrit Ashta means eight and Anga means limbs so it can be termed as the eight limb path and is based on Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali. As history of yoga is very rich it helps people in all its manner and this is one of its form which is also known as Power Yoga. Each of the eight limbs has an important part to play for a better and healthy living looking ahead to make life less stressful and happy.


The eight limbs which signify Ashthanga Yoga are


1. Yama – It reflects the moral and ethical grounds of human behavior

    Ahimsa: Non-violence

    Satya: Truthfulness

    Asteya: No stealing

    Brahmacharya: Celibacy

    Aparigraha: Non-covetousness or Envy or possessiveness


2. Niyama – It reflects the disciplines one has to go through their             human  life

   Shoucha – Purity

   Santosh – Contentment

   Tapa – Endurance

   Swadhyaya- Self study

   Eshwar Pranidhan– Dedication towards god


3. Asana: It is the practice of asana for better well-being in your body and soul


4. Pranayama: Breathing exercises a way to attain control on your breathing pattern


5. Pratyahara: Withdrawal of the senses, which would mean total cut off from the outside world and the concentration level increases in making your mind a haven for all the positive energy.


6. Dharana: Concentration, something which would help you to concentrate without any level of distraction.


7. Dhyana: Meditation and concentration on things which are your main objective but also being done on a wider perspective.


8. Samadhi: Attainment a state of joy and bliss which is based on your skills of dhyana and realizing the purity of your life and the importance in life as whole. It can also be stated as enlightenment.


About the author:

Kevin Pederson, the webmaster for Yogawiz , on all aspects of yoga and to know about the different types of yoga like ashthanga yoga.







No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: